RYDER CUP: Gleneagles Hotel, Perthshire, Scotland

By Basil Naimet

The holy grail of team golf will take place from September 26-28, when the 40th Ryder Cup is played out in the Gleneagles Hotel at Perthshire in Scotland.

The world’s top performing players will form two competing teams – Europe and the United States – as they go head-to-head during three days of intense golf.

Former US Tour champion Tom Watson, who is no stranger to success – winning 39 PGA tours and 8 majors including 5 British Opens – will go up against Europe’s Paul McGinley. A former European Ryder Cup competitor, McGinley defeated Jim Furyk to win the cup for Europe in 2002.

This is set to be a fascinating affair. Boasting 4 of the world’s top 10 players, team Europe is formidable. They are also in red-hot form in 21st century Ryder Cup action, having won 5 of the last 6 meetings. No doubt, Watson will have his work cut-out deciding which of his US chargers will get them off to a winning start and who can ultimately stop world number one Rory McIlroy, with the Northern Irishman having won back-to-back majors this year. However, in Ricky Fowler and Jordan Spieth the US arguably have the 2 best young golfers in the world at their disposal.

Historically the teams were chosen by a ‘selection committee’, but over time it evolved into performance-based selection.  In this year’s cup the top 9 players have been automatically selected to represent each team, with a further 3 being selected as ‘wild cards’ or ‘captain’s picks’.



On day one of the competition, 8 matches are played between two-man teams known as foursomes. The other format is four-ball or best ball matches (over 18 holes).

Foursomes – Two players from each team compete in an alternate shot format. One player tees off from the odd tee numbered hole whilst their team mate tees off on the even numbered hole. They take turns hitting the same ball until the hole is completed with the team with the lowest score winning the hole.

Four Ball – Each member of the two-man team plays the match using their own ball. The player from each team with the lowest score will have their score counted for his team.

The winner of each match scores a point for his team, with ½ a point each for any match that is tied after the 18 holes. The winning team is determined by cumulative total points. If a tie occurs (14 points each) the Ryder Cup will be retained by the team who won the previous contest. In 2012, Europe won the Ryder Cup 14 ½ points to 13 ½ points.








European Team Captain: Paul McGinley


Player                                       World ranking

Rory McIlroy Nthn Irnd                                  1

Sergio Garcia Spain                                     3

Henrik Stenson Sweden                               4

Justin Rose England                                    6

Martin Kaymer Germany                                         12

Graeme McDowell Nthn Irnd                        18

Victor Dubuisson France                             23

Jamie Donaldson Wales                               28

Thomas Bjorn Denmark                              30

Stephen Gallacher Scotland                       34

Ian Poulter England                                      37

Lee Westwood England                                41


U.S Team Captain: Tom Watson

Player                                       World ranking

Jim Furyk                                                       5

Bubba Watson                                              7

Matt Kuchar                                                   9

Ricky Fowler                                                            10

Phil Mickelson                                               11

Jordan Spieth                                                13

Zach Johnson                                               16

Jimmy Walker                                                19

Hunter Mahan                                               21

Keegan Bradley                                            26

Patrick Reed                                                  27

Webb Simpson                                              33