Goodbye FRINGEWORLD 2015


Well, FRINGEWORLD is over for yet another year, and what a season it was! From the pink flag bunting taking over the Perth Cultural Centre, Russell Square, Midland and Fremantle, to the circus tents and roving artists, it was certainly a festive atmosphere. There were many late night gatherings, burgers eaten in the Urban Orchard, beer consumed everywhere, rickshaw rides, giant ears of corn on the cob, and of course extra-late cabarets, burlesque, circus, comedy and theatre.

Of course, what festival would be complete without awards?

“FRINGE WORLD Awards are given to the best show in each genre category with winners receiving cash, development support and direct touring opportunities as part of their award.

The top prize awarded on the night, the Martin Sims Award recognised the best new West Australian work in the Festival. Highly coveted, this award gives the winning artist(s) access to $10,000 and touring opportunities to build their career internationally at other Fringe Festivals through the World Fringe Alliance.

In 2015 the Martin Sims Award went to Monroe and Associates, presented by The Blue Room Theatre Summer Nights and The Last Great Hunt.”


Monroe and Associates was held in a small caravan parked outside of The Blue Room Theatre and was quite the fixture during FRINGEWORLD. The Great Last Hunt collective are the team that brought us Bruce and Elephents which TAT Theatre reviewed below.

Other notable winners include:

Cabaret Award:                                                La Soiree

Children’s Show Award:                                Lords of Strut (The Family Edition) (JOINT)

                                                                The Bookbinder

Comedy Award:                                               Trygve Wakenshaw: KRAKEN

Music & Musicals Award:              Sam Perry Live
Theatre Award:                                                Fake It ‘til You Make It


WA Emerging Artist Award: (JOINT)         Mikaela Westall (Moving On Inc.)

Clarence Ryan (Metalhead)

Felicity McKay (Venus in Fur)
For the full list of award winners and nominees head to


Until next year, friends! Now it’s time to go and get some well-deserved sleep…