World’s best hit Melbourne for Kooyong Classic

With a draw featuring six current and former top 15 players and an expanded 12-man field, this year’s Priceline Pharmacy Kooyong Classic promised to be bigger and more spectacular – and didn’t disappoint!

“The Kooyong draw features four top 20 players so there’s no better place to see the players up close than Melbourne’s original home of tennis,” said tournament director Brian Cooney. “If you want to watch some of the biggest names in the sport prepare for the start of their Grand Slam season, Kooyong’s the place to be.”

Thanks to Canon Australia, TAT Sport was able to capture the action between Nicolás Almagro and Paul-Henri Mathieu on Day 1 of the matches scheduled on the 12th January 2016. The Classic was eventually won by David Goffin.

The Kooyong Classic is firmly established as the premier lead up event for the Grand Slam of the Asia-Pacific, the Australian Open. As part of the summer of tennis in Melbourne, Australia, each year in January, twelve of the world’s top male players grace Kooyong’s historic centre court, maintaining a long and distinguished tradition as the ‘spiritual home of tennis’.

Former World No. 1 Lleyton Hewitt is the only one of seven Australian winners to have been crowned the Kooyong Champion more than once (2011, 2013). Michael Chang, Andre Agassi and Andy Roddick co-hold the record for most titles with three victories each. Other champions include Roger Federer, Mark Philippoussis, David Nalbandian, Fernando Verdasco and Bernard Tomic.

This boutique event provides an intimate setting for fans in a fun and friendly environment, whilst allowing them to watch the world’s top players at their best!

Photograph taken by Ronald Quinonez.