MICF: Award winners

Well, the Melbourne International Comedy Festival is over for another year. What did 2016 bring? So many memorable moments! There were International guests, local jokers and everything in between. Not only was it MICF’s 30th birthday, but so much more was added to the program. The 30th birthday gala featured a stellar line-up, Humour Us – 30 years of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival exhibition brought a little culture to the festival, Live discussions and podcasts were recorded for posterity and the Big Fat (30th birthday) Comedy Quiz tested Australia’s comedy knowledge.

On top of all that, there was a comedy wedding that didn’t leave a dry eye in the house! Comedians Zoe Coombs Marr and Rhys Nicholson, who are both in homosexual relationships, held a protest by marrying each other to highlight the inequality that LGBTI Australians face in being denied marriage equality.

Coombs Marr then went on to take out the prestigious Barry Award for 2016. The award, which honours festival patron Barry Humphries, gives recognition to the most outstanding show. Zoe Coombs Marr’s show featured her character ‘Dave’ a rather put-upon Aussie bloke. She was delighted by the win, happy that the festival fostered the weird. Coombs Marr also took out the Golden Gibbo Award – named after the late Lynda Gibson whose quirky humour and brave comedic choices are lauded for the best Independent show.

Other awards went to:

Tom Walker – Best Newcomer

Tom Ballard – Pinder Prize (receives a show in Edinburg)

Chris Wainhouse – Piece of Wood (Comic’s choice)

True Aussie Patriots and Zanzoop – Director’s Choice

Carl Barron – People’s Choice

For the full list of awards winners, head to the MICF website: https://www.comedyfestival.com.au/about-us/awards/